Review: The Reason I Jump

Book Title: The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen Year-Old Boy with Autism

Book Author: Naoki Higashida

Book Rating: ☆☆☆☆ (4 out of 5 stars)

Synopsis: “Written by Naoki Higashida, a very smart, very self-aware, and very charming thirteen-year-old boy with autism, it is a one-of-a-kind memoir that demonstrates how an autistic mind thinks, feels, perceives, and responds in ways few of us can imagine. Parents and family members who never thought they could get inside the head of their autistic loved one at last have a way to break through to the curious, subtle, and complex life within.”

Like most people who are interested in this book, I was drawn to the topic because I have an autistic family member and wanted to know more about what he’s actually thinking/feeling. This was an amazing book that really did shed light on what really goes on in the minds of autistic individuals. Obviously, I know that every person is unique, but I felt that most of what the author wrote about could apply to many autistic individuals. I was so impressed with the author’s insightfulness and honesty, especially at such a young age. I enjoyed the question and answer format of the book, and the short stories by the young author sprinkled throughout were beautiful and fascinating as well.

There are so many books about autism, but few written by people who are actually autistic, and this book provided a perspective unlike any other I have ever encountered. I am so thankful that I had the chance to read this book, and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning more about autism from the perspective of someone who actually experiences it firsthand.

Disclosure: I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

Leave a Reply

