Review: Love, Rosie

Book Title: Love, Rosie

Book Author: Cecelia Ahern

Book Rating: ☆☆☆ (3 out of 5 stars)

Synopsis: “Rosie and Alex are destined for one another, and everyone seems to know it but them. Best friends since childhood, their relationship gets closer by the day, until Alex gets the news that his family is leaving Dublin and moving to Boston. At 17, Rosie and Alex have just started to see each other in a more romantic light. Devastated, the two make plans for Rosie to apply to colleges in the U.S.

She gets into Boston University, Alex gets into Harvard, and everything is falling into place, when on the eve of her departure, Rosie gets news that will change their lives forever: She’s pregnant by a boy she’d gone out with while on the rebound from Alex.

Her dreams for college, Alex, and a glamorous career dashed, Rosie stays in Dublin to become a single mother, while Alex pursues a medical career and a new love in Boston. But destiny is a funny thing, and in this novel, structured as a series of clever e-mails, letters, notes, and a trail of missed opportunities, Alex and Rosie find out that fate isn’t done with them yet.”

My feelings for this book are so mixed.  On one hand, this was an incredibly sweet and, at times, really funny love story.  I also really enjoyed the characters of Rosie and Alex, and never stopped rooting for them to get together.  But on the other hand, this book frustrated the hell out of me.  First of all, this story is told completely through the e-mails, letters, and text messages exchanged by all of the characters.  The author’s reason for this makes complete sense once you reach the epilogue, but I can see why some people wouldn’t enjoy this book for that reason alone.

Secondly, as the synopsis states, this is a story about two people who have loved each other for years and years who just can’t seem to get their timing right.  I mean, not to give too much away, but literally decades pass before they get their happy ending.  And each of the characters go through hell in the meantime.  I really wish that this story had been cut by about half, as by the fourth and fifth times that things don’t work out for Rosie and Alex, you will likely start getting a feeling of deja vu.  There were a few different occasions where I would think to myself, “Wait, I already read this part.  Oh, no, I guess I didn’t…they’re just saying the same things.  Again.”

Immediately upon finishing this book, I watched the movie with Lily Collins and Sam Claflin (swoon).  The movie was quite a bit different from the book, and I think that the story translated a bit better to the screen.  The movie ends a couple of decades before the book, which I also appreciated.  Honestly, in my opinion, you should skip the book and just watch the movie.  You will be much less frustrated.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book through Netgalley.

6 thoughts on “Review: Love, Rosie

  1. I read this book probably about two years ago and remember really loving it! It took me awhile to get used to the book being in that format, but it eventually sucked me in. I’ve also read another of Cecelia Ahern’s books and didn’t like it at all – the writing style there sucked, so perhaps her work reads much better in an nontraditional format. Haven’t seen the movie yet but definitely want to!

    Like

  2. This review just speaks my mind! I loved the book, it was so sweet and cute and funny and adorable, but I wish the story wasn’t stretched so much! In the middle, I was so bored and I had to drag myself because I was hoping for the ending to be worth it. It was a Cecelia Ahern book, after all. Thankfully, the ending WAS worth it. But still, I can’t deny the fact that the middle part did get me annoyed…
    I really liked the concept of the entire story being written in the form of emails, messages and notes, though!
    Great review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

